Department of Physics


The department was started on 7th August in the year 2018 as a self – financing programme with 9 (major) and 13 (general) students. Dr. Dilip Sarma and Ms. Krishna Nath were its founder teachers. Dr. Amar Jyoti Kalita joined the department in August 2019 and provided his valuable services till December 2020.

            The department was provincialized in the year 2020 creating three sanctioned post. Sushmita Rabha, Binita Borgohain and Pulak Talukdar joined the department against the created post.

Faculty Profile

M.Sc. (IIT, Delhi)

Assistant Professor

E-MAIL – [email protected]

Specialization – Condensed matter Physics(microwave dielectric materials). Nanotechnology.


Research interest – Dielectric materials for dielectric resonators and IC applications. Multilayer thin films.


Publication –

  1. Rabha, S., &Dobbidi, P. (2019). Structural, electrical and dielectric studies on (1− x) MgTiO3− xBa0.5Sr0.5TiO3 composite ceramics for type-II capacitor applications. Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Electronics30(6), 5327-5341.(IF-2.220)
  2. Rabha, S., & Dobbidi, P. (2019). The impact of thickness on the optical, electrical and dielectric properties of nanocrystalline 0.9 MTO-0.1 BNO composite thin films. Applied Surface Science489, 831-840. (IF-6.182)
  3. Rabha, S., &Dobbidi, P. (2019). Enhanced microwave dielectric and electrical properties of Zn substituted Mg2TiO 4 ceramics for RF/microwave applications. Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Electronics30(15), 14600-14610. (IF-2.220)
  4. Rabha, S., Chikkala, A. K., &Dobbidi, P. (2017). Structural and dielectric properties of (1-x) MgTiO3Ba5Nb4O15 composites by microwave sintering process. Ferroelectrics519(1), 145-151. (IF-0.669)
  5. Das, H., moni Das, T., Rabha, S., Bhattacharjee, S., & Datta, P. (2012). Low-Pass Filter Characteristics of ZnS: Cu Quantum Dots Embedded in Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVA). International Journal of Innovative Research and Development (ISSN 2278–0211)1(7), 48-55. (IF-0.765)

M.Sc., Ph.D (Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology, Gauhati University)

Assistant Professor


E-mail – [email protected]


Specialization – Nuclear Physics, Electronics and Plasma Physics


Research interest – Low density and low temperature plasma, Low Earth Orbit (LEO) plasma, Plasma diagnostics, Plasma sheath, Multicomponent plasma, Electric propulsion, Ion thrusters


Publication –

  1. Binita Borgohain and H. Bailung,“Ion and electron sheath characteristics in a low

density and low temperature plasma.” Physics of Plasmas 24, 113512 (2017).

  1. Binita Borgohain and H. Bailung,“Sheath characteristics in a magnetically filtered low

density low temperature multicomponent plasma with negative ions.” Physics of Plasmas

26, 123511 (2019).

3.Binita Borgohain and H. Bailung,“Sheath modification in presence of ion flow.”(Under


M.Sc. (Cotton University)

Assistant Professor


E-mail – [email protected]

Specialization – Condensed Matter Physics


Research Interest – atmospheric Physics



M.Sc (G.U), Ph.D (IIT Guwahati)
Assistant Professor

[email protected]

Specialization: High energy physics, Nuclear Physics

Research Interest – Structure and interactions of nucleons,Perturbative and Nonperturbative Quantum Chromodynamics (QCD), Nuclear Effective Field Theories: Heavy Baryon Chiral Perturbation Theory (HBChPT), Radiative correction to lepton – proton scattering.

Publication –

1. P. Talukdar, V. C. Shastry, F. Myhrer and U. Raha, “Lepton-protonw Two-Photon Exchange in Chiral Perturbation Theory”, Phys. Rev. D 101 (1):013008 (2020).
2. Pulak Talukdar, Fred Myhrer, Ghanashyam Meher and Udit Raha “Low-Energy Lepton-Proton Bremsstrahlung via Efectve Field Theory”, Eur. Phy. J.A (2018) 4:189 .
3. F. Myhrer, P. Talukdar and U. Raha, “Bremsstrahlung at Low Energies”, Few Body Syst. 59 (2018) no.4, 62.
4. P. Talukdar, F. Myhrer and U. Raha “Lepton-Proton Bremsstrahlung Distribution Function in Low-Energy Effective Field Theory”, Proceedings of the DAE Symp on Nucl. Phys. 62 (2017) D15.
5. CFNS Ad-Hoc meeting on Radiative Corrections Whitepaper, Afanasev et al. , e-Print: 2012.09970 , (2020)